And so to bed…

So, we moved our son out of our bedroom ten days ago.

And tonight we’re moving him back in again.

It’s not him who minds, it’s us. It just didn’t feel right. I slept the first couple of nights in his new bedroom and then he had a night alone. And we both felt that it was too soon and we questioned why we’d done it.

It was my idea to move him. I wanted to do it before he was aware of the change, so he wouldn’t feel abandoned or wonder where we were. He still wakes around two times a night so it was also going to mean me going back and forth. But I felt our current set-up wasn’t working either. My partner works nights (playing poker, since you ask) and sleeps in most days. It wasn’t the nights that were tough but the mornings, when my son and I would get up and he’d sleep in. Dealing with changes, naps, feeds etc in the same room as my sleeping partner was irksome, to say the least.

So we’ve come up with a solution, I hope, that we’re going to try. Little bub will sleep in with us at night, in his travel cot (just taken delivery of a new mattress.) And in the day he’ll nap and we’ll do everything else in his bedroom. This has the added bonus of helping him get used to his travel cot for our upcoming holidays.

I hope this works for us all. I just now need to get my head around how we cope with only one baby monitor…

When did your children move into their own room? How did you know it was time?

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “And so to bed…”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    What a great question! I’d love to see what people have to say, too. For us, I started Brianna in another room when she was a baby (I think when she started rolling around), but not in a crib – I put a mattress on the floor against the wall. Then I put a padded rug on the floor around the mattress in case she rolled off. That way I could nurse her to sleep at night (or naps) and get back up (or not). She has a space she has been used to for a long time now, but she can also have me next to her if she needs it. It has been a win-win for us, but I know it wouldn’t necessarily work for every family.

    • jenmum Says:

      Thanks for your comment. I’d wondered how a family might go about this if they bed share. I certainly missed a comfy bed for nursing the night he was alone so sounds a good idea. Is nice to have him back with us though – am enjoying mastering side-lying nursing so it’s a bit more restful.

Leave a Reply

