Transformation

Wow! Double wow!! Triple wow!!!

Just put Bub to bed. Bath, pyjamas, bottle, story, song, into the cot, he shut his eyes, asleep. Just like that.

This is truly amazing.

Anyone who knows me knows of my difficulties in getting Bub to sleep. I used to rock him, till he got too heavy, when I started to breastfeed him to sleep. This led to a vicious cycle of increased wakings, more feeding to sleep, more wakings etc. He and I were both exhausted and things needed to change.

I thought we’d be struggling with his sleep for months, maybe even years.

I certainly couldn’t imagine being able to do what I’ve just done.

This deserves a longer post to explore what we’ve done, how Bub has responded, my fears and how we are seeking to make this as gentle and loving a transition as possible.

But for now I just want to mark how happy and truly thankful I am for this change in our situation. Being able to put Bub to bed so easy and smoothly, for both of us, is astounding.

I’m sure I’ll never take it for granted.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Transformation”

  1. jenmum Says:

    For anyone reading this and feeling that I’m a jammy sod I feel duty bound to report that subsequent sleeps have, of course, been horrible. Two steps forward, one step back, etc. Clearly this is no panacea (never thought it was going to be) but that makes me treasure the bed times that go well even more.

  2. tinyheartbeat Says:

    I absolutely love your blog. It takes me back to the first year with my lovely little boy, (who’s now 3). I’m going through IVF at the moment and your blog made me smile. Thank you.

    • jenmum Says:

      Thanks so much, that means a lot. Really hope the IVF works out for you. We had difficulty conceiving and thought we might need to go down the IVF route. Infertility is so awful. Wishing you plenty of babydust – good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

