Style void mummy: Belt up!

Even Santa wears a belt

Even Santa wears a belt

I was finally unpacking the last of my wardrobe the other day (yes, I know I moved two months ago, what of it??) It made me realise just how many belts I own and actually how nice many of them are. I never wear a belt, except a hidden ‘hold my trousers up’ one, despite owning many. I always feel very self-conscious in them, feeling they never stay put and always gape or dig or hang wrongly.

But belts are a really crucial part of an outfit and can turn a ramshackle collection of clothes into a proper look. I visit a few real-life style blogs (see here and here) and they almost always have a belt (not to mention many other accessories.) I’m sure that if I could get over my self-consciousness I’d soon learn to love belts and wear them often.

Sooo, in the spirit of the interweb and the multiple different style challenges (like this) that proliferate I’m going to set myself a task. A belt challenge. Can I commit to wearing a belt every day for a week, just to see how it goes? Sounds a bit too easy I imagine but to me it’s pretty daunting. I think it’ll really help me to step my daytime wear up from ‘thrown together’ to ‘together’ as well as give me new ideas without having to spend any money (always a good thing.)

So here are my just been invented rules:

  1. Wear a belt as part of your daytime outfit for seven days
  2. Incorporate a new belt every day, no repeats
  3. Belt must be at least semi-visible
  4. Take a photo and if feeling brave share it online
  5. Count up how many (if any) compliments my new belted looks receive

My main decision now is when to do this. If I were feeling brave I’d do it on my first week back at work. But that really is scary. My alternative is to do it over the christmas/new year period which is much less daunting and also a more showy, dressy time.

So then, that’s it agreed. I’ll start my challenge on the 24th December and run through to the 31st. This is going to include at least two parties (get me!) as well as Christmas day so no excuse for not taking time with my appearance on these days. I’ll let you know how I get on.

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Style void mummy: Belt up!”

  1. Tweets that mention Style void mummy: Belt up! « Jenmum's adventures in parenting -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jenny and Jenny. Jenny said: Style void mummy: Belt up!: http://wp.me/pX0v1-8H […]

  2. Style void mummy belt challenge : day 1 « Jenmum's adventures in parenting Says:

    […] day of my belt challenge: can I wear a belt every day for a week over this christmas period. The aim is for me to get over […]

  3. Style void mummy belt challenge: days 2 & 3 « Jenmum's adventures in parenting Says:

    […] two and three of my belt challenge. Can I wear a belt
    every day for a week over this christmas period. Of course what I
    didn’t […]

  4. Style void mummy belt challenge – day 4 « Jenmum's adventures in parenting Says:

    […] four of my belt challenge. Can I wear a belt every day for a week over this christmas […]

  5. Style void mummy belt challenge – day 6 « Jenmum's adventures in parenting Says:

    […] six of my belt challenge: can I wear a belt every day for a week over this Christmas […]

  6. Style void mummy belt challenge – day 5 « Jenmum's adventures in parenting Says:

    […] five of my belt challenge. Can I wear a belt every day for a week over this christmas […]

  7. Style void mummy belt challenge – day 7 « Jenmum's adventures in parenting Says:

    […] seven of my belt challenge: can I wear a belt every day for a week over this Christmas period. The final day of my challenge […]

Leave a Reply

