Learning through play

Little Bub loves to play. And at thirteen months he’s learning all the time. Sometimes I’m completely shocked by the pace of his learning and how quickly he’s developing.

He’s had some stacking cups for months but has never done more than bang them together. But a week or so ago I was playing with him and he started to stack them up. I was really excited and called over his dad to watch who, naturally, went ‘Oh, that, he’s been doing that for ages.’ Gee, thanks daddy! I’d have kinda liked to know! This happens quite a bit at the moment now I’m back at work. I spot Bub doing something new and excitedly tell his daddy, only to be told he’s done it loads before. For instance he has some stacking rings (all the classic toys for us!) Yesterday he started to stack them onto the stand, really carefully and accurately. I was sooo proud. But, of course, he’s apparently been doing it for ages…

I’m amazed at the moment by how quickly he’s developing. He’s really learning loads and getting so much more adept with his hand eye coordination. It is a challenge to keep up so I’m not too surprised Bub’s daddy is forgetting to update me on a few things. I do feel a bit sad that sometimes I’m missing out on a fair few ‘firsts’ but I guess that’s inevitable now I’m back at work. Just don’t grow up too soon little baby!

This blog entry forms part of the March Tots 100 blog hop.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

