Countdown to Race for Life

Seven days to go until my first ever race. I wasn’t very keen when I was talked into Race for Life. I was going to walk it with my sister. But then I got talked into going to a running club and was really proud of myself when I managed to do four lots of five minute bursts. Way more than I’ve ever managed before when I’d tried to run alone. That was about three months ago. I’ve had my ups and downs since, including a nagging injury that I foolishly didn’t slow down for until far too late requiring total running abstinence for about three weeks. But I’ve learnt to take things a bit easier and run at my own pace and things seem to be going pretty well. I did 25 minutes non-stop today and have been doing around 20-25 minute runs for the last couple of weeks. I’m feeling pretty pleased with that.

The Race for Life is 5k which is much further than I’ve done so far. I’ve actually no idea how far I’ve run as I only measure time not distance. Without having a GPS or iPhone I’m not really able to measure this. So I’ve no idea if I’ve been running 1 mile or nearer 2.5. No idea at all. So it could all be a complete disaster next week. I’m not necessarily expecting to run the whole race but I want to give it a good go. Am looking forward to it. And I guess whatever happens I’ll have a new Personal Best which I can then try to beat in the future!!

I’ve been doing the Couch to 5k plan which I really recommend for anyone thinking about running. It’s really flexible, I’ve been jumping about between the options depending on how I’ve been feeling. I’ve also got a great iPod app which means I can listen to music and get directions on when to run and when to walk. It’s really good.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

