We need to blog about Kevin

Went to see the ‘premiere’ of We Need To Talk About Kevin this evening. I say premiere but it was us and about five other people so not exactly a sold out affair.

I read the book some years ago and really liked it. However that was all pre-Bub and so I wasn’t sure if I’d find it much more affecting. As it was I thought the film did a good job but the book is still much more powerful.

I think the book/film catches at a nagging concern of many mums-to-be. That worry over whether you’ll bond with your child. Fear that this isn’t happening seems to crop up within the complex emotions of post-natal depression. It also frames something I do think about which is how your child inevitably grows up and apart from you. All natural I know but still sad to think about. I sometimes get weary of Bub’s constant desire for my attention. But I’m also very aware I’ll one day long to hold my baby close and won’t be able too. All barriers faced by Eva in the film but in that case pretty much from his birth.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

